Crawford, Oglethorpe County
The Crawford Depot, with its distinctive curved roofline and granite masonry, was constructed in 1848 by the Georgia Railroad Company and later served as a major storage and shipping center for the Confederate Army during the Civil War. Being the last remaining stone depot built by the Georgia Railroad Company, its rehabilitation included cleaning, sealing and repointing the masonry exterior. The project also removed inappropriate alterations, including acoustic ceiling tiles that had covered the unique roof truss system on the interior. With a combination of funding from GDOT grants and local fundraising, the depot now houses the Oglethorpe County Chamber of Commerce, a catering kitchen, and large open space for public meetings and special events.