Callahan Incentive Grant

The Callahan Incentive Grant is made possible by a generous grant from Barbara and Les Callahan, long-time supporters of the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation, in order to provide funding for historic preservation projects in the state of Georgia.

Download an Application

Applications must be emailed or postmarked by August 30, 2019

A total of $10,000 is available per calendar year for nonprofit or governmental organizations and may be granted to one or more project, depending on the quality of the applicants in a given year.

Criteria for Eligibility

  • Grants are only available to sites listed or eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places.
  • Grant funding shall be used for capital –“bricks and mortar” – improvements to a historic site.
  • Applications for planning, consultants, speakers, or overhead expenses will not be considered.
  • Grant funds will require a dollar for dollar match. The match may be in the form of cash or documented volunteer hours. Volunteer hour value shall be calculated at minimum wage per hour rate for actual work performed to the historic site.
  • Grant funds shall provide significant impact towards a full rehabilitation or restoration of the historic site.
  • The project shall demonstrate significant community impact. Support for the project should include a wide range of stakeholders, including community organizations, community leaders, and individuals.
  • Projects should also exhibit a sustainable plan for long term use and maintenance, including economic self-sufficiency to the extent possible.

To Apply
Applicants must submit a completed application form, as well as up to 15 photographs that adequately depict the project and its needs. Photos should be in .jpg format. Please provide captions for photographs either in their filename or in a corresponding document.

Applications should be sent to Ben Sutton, Director of Preservation, via email at, or mail at the address below, no later than Friday, August 30, 2019.

Ben Sutton, Director of Preservation
The Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation
Callahan Incentive Grant
1516 Peachtree St. NW
Atlanta, Georgia 30309

Contact Ben Sutton, Director of Preservation at 404-885-7817 or

J. Neel Reid Prize

Honoring the legacy of Neel Reid, this is awarded annually to an architecture student, an architect intern or a recently registered architect to study architecture anywhere in the world.

Applications will be available in the fall.

About J. Neel Reid
Architect Neel Reid (and his partners in Hentz, Reid & Adler) founded the Georgia school of classicists after study at Columbia University and abroad.

Many sources influenced Reid’s architecture, and his interior and garden designs. His travel diary, sketchbooks and scrapbooks, and extensive library reflect this. His early-twentieth-century interest in historic preservation and contextual design, in architectural education and professional standards of practice inspired others long after his tragic early death of a brain tumor in 1926.

Reid’s father’s family were Troup County, Georgia, pioneers; he grew up in Macon, beginning apprenticeship and practice there before, in 1909, moving to Atlanta.

The J. Neel Reid Prize Program Description and Criteria
The J. Neel Reid Prize of up to $4,000 will be awarded to a student, an intern or a recently registered professional in the field of architecture or landscape architecture for study travel that honors the legacy of Neel Reid.

The focus of the study travel should involve historic architecture (built prior to Neel Reid’s death in 1926), historic landscapes, historic preservation of classic architecture or new construction that is classic and context-related.

Applicants are encouraged to propose an independent study, but participation in an existing program is acceptable. Priority will be given to those applicants with a connection to Georgia (a Georgia resident, a student in a Georgia academic institution or an employee of a Georgia firm).

The recipient will be required to provide a report to The Georgia Trust within six months of returning from the study travel experience. Travel may be to any location in the world where the objectives of the program can be met.

The Trust must receive applications and supporting documents by February for the following year. The Prize will be announced at The Georgia Trust’s Annual Meeting in the spring. Winner will be notified beforehand. The study travel should be completed by January of the following year.

Elizabeth Lyon Fellowship

Established in 1994, the Elizabeth Lyon Fund supports supports educational and research/study initiatives in Georgia that address preservation needs and emerging issues, and that will make a significant contribution to the practice and understanding of historic preservation.

Applications will be available in the fall.

The Elizabeth Lyon Fund was established in 1994 in honor of Elizabeth “Liz” Lyon, who served as director of the Historic Preservation Division of DNR from 1976 to 1994 and served as Georgia State Historic Preservation Officer.

The Elizabeth Lyon Fellowship supports educational and research/study initiatives in Georgia that address preservation needs and emerging issues, and that will make a significant contribution to the practice and understanding of historic preservation.

With support from the Elizabeth Lyon Fund and The Georgia Trust, this fellowship will connect research with the preservation of historic properties, contribute significantly to the scholarship of historic preservation in general and in Georgia, and promote historic preservation practice and theory.

Program Description
The Elizabeth Lyon Fellowship of up to $5,000 will be awarded to a student, an intern or a professional. Funds will be distributed as reimbursement upon submission of invoices for eligible expenses.

The fellowship will be announced at the Georgia Trust’s Annual Meeting in the spring. The fellowship should be used within one calendar year of being received. A copy of the final publication or report must be received by The Georgia Trust by June 1 of the following year.

Students and emerging professionals are encouraged to apply.