Preservation Awards

Since 1978 the Georgia Trust’s annual Preservation Awards have recognized projects, groups and individuals who have contributed to preservation excellence in this state. Through this program, the Trust has awarded hundreds of honors in the areas of Preservation, Restoration, Rehabilitation, Sustainable Rehabilitation, Stewardship, and Preservation Service. Now in its 46th year, the Preservation Awards program has recognized a variety of excellent preservation projects, from the reuse of large historic properties that anchor communities to small-scale salvations of residential properties by individuals who are driven by a desire to participate in the maintenance and rehabilitation of the built environment in their community.

Nominations of projects are reviewed by a committee that weighs the project’s contribution to its community, as well as the state of Georgia.  Projects are also judged by their compliance with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.

There are a number of special awards given by The Georgia Trust that include:

Marguerite Williams Award
Named for the founding Vice President of The Georgia Trust, this award is given annually to the award-winning project that had the greatest impact on historic preservation in Georgia.

Mary Gregory Jewett Award
This award is given at the Board of Trustees’ discretion to recognize an individual for their distinguished service in the field of preservation.  It is named in honor of The Georgia Trust’s first president and is the organization’s top honor given to an individual.

Camille Yow Volunteer of the Year Award
Named for one of The Georgia Trust’s most commendable volunteers, and its first recipient, the Camille Yow Volunteer of the Year Award is given to a person or persons who have graciously given their time and talents to The Trust.

Chairman’s Award
The Chairman’s Award recognizes a person or project of great significance in the field of Historic Preservation. This award is reserved to be presented at the sole discretion of the Chairman of the Board of Trustees to a project or individual that is truly deserving of top honors from The Georgia Trust for extraordinary efforts contributing to the preservation of Georgia’s historic resources.

Senator George Hooks Award
This award recognizes excellence in public leadership in Georgia. It is given at the discretion of the Board of Trustees and is named in honor of Senator George Hooks, a strong supporter of the preservation of Georgia’s history and culture, who served in the Georgia General Assembly for 32 years.

Michael L. Starr Award
This award was created in 2020 in memory of Mike Starr, former Board Chair of the Georgia Trust and the Georgia Cities Foundation. This award honors the rehabilitation of a downtown historic building which best exemplifies the highest standards of historic rehabilitation and has a significant impact on the downtown of the city in which it is located.

Join us when we announce the 2023 Preservation Awards at the Spring Ramble in Atlanta on April 22.

To view past Preservation Awards winners and to learn more about this program, visit our Preservation Awards page.


Past Preservation Awards Ceremonies: