The Georgia Trust


The Commons at the Imperial Hotel
Atlanta, Fulton County
Winner of the 2015 Marguerite Williams Award
for Excellence in Rehabilitation

View press release announcing 2016 Preservation Award winners >>

Nomination forms for the 2017 Preservation Awards will be available this summer.

For more than 35 years the Trust has recognized preservation projects and individuals in the state who have made significant contributions to the field of historic preservation. Each year, the Preservation Awards ceremony is held during the weekend of The Georgia Trust Spring Ramble.

Awards are presented on the basis of the contributions of the person or project to the community and/or state and on compliance to the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.

Excellence in Rehabilitation awards recognize projects that make compatible use of a building through repair, alterations or additions while preserving features of the property that convey its historic value.

Excellence in Sustainable Rehabilitation awards recognize rehabilitation projects that also incorporate appropriate conservation and sustainable treatments to lessen a building's environmental impact while preserving significant features that convey its historic significance.

Awards for Excellence in Restoration recognize exemplary restoration of historic structures. An accurate restoration project depicts the form, features and character of a historic building as it appeared at a particular period of time. Restoration requires sensitive upgrading of mechanical systems and other code-required work to make the site functional.

Awards for Excellence in Preservation recognize the appropriate preservation of historic resources and creative interpretations of historic sites.

The Stewardship award recognizes those who have ensured the preservation of historic properties through long-term care and maintenance, stabilization, protection or continuous family ownership.

Preservation Service awards recognize persons, groups, businesses and/or government entities that demonstrate exemplary activities and promotion of awareness in the field of historic preservation.

Download a nomination form >>

Preservation Awards FAQ


2015 Preservation Awards 2014 Preservation Awards 2013 Preservation Awards 2012 Preservation Awards 2011 Preservation Awards
2010 Preservation Awards        



Site Map   |   Search