The Georgia Trust

LINKS

NATIONAL SITES
Advisory Council on Historic Preservation www.achp.gov
American Institute for Conservation and Artistic Works (AIC) http://aic.stanford.edu/
National Archives www.nara.gov
National Center for Preservation Technology and Training (NCPTT) www.apti.org
National Conference of State Historic Preservation Offices www.ncshpo.org
National Park Service Cultural Programs www.cr.nps.gov/whatwedo.htm
National Park Service: Heritage Preservation Services www2.cr.nps.gov
National Park Service: Treasures of the Nation www.cr.nps.gov/museum
National Register of Historic Places www.cr.nps.gov/nr
National Trust for Historic Preservation www.nthp.org
Society for American Archaeology www.saa.org
Southeast Regional African American Preservation Alliance www.sraapa.org

PRESERVATION ADVOCACY
Preservation Action www.preservationaction.org
Preserve and Protect www.preserve.org
Sprawl Watch Clearinghouse www.sprawlwatch.org

SMART GROWTH/LAND USE-RELATED ORGANIZATIONS
Georgia Quality Growth Partnership www.georgiaqualitygrowth.com
Smart Growth America www.smartgrowthamerica.com
Smart Growth Network www.smartgrowth.org
Center for Excellence for Sustainable Development www.sustainable.doe.gov/landuse/luintro.shtml
Urban Land Institute www.uli.org

HERITAGE EDUCATION
The Center for Understanding the Built Environment (CUBE) www.cubekc.org
UNESCO World Heritage Center whc.unesco.org/nwhc/pages/home/pages/homepage.htm
The Heritage Education Network (THEN) http://histpres.mtsu.edu/then/
Teaching with Historic Places www.cr.nps.gov/nr/twhp/
Georgia Council on Economic Education www.gcee.org

DIRECTORIES
PreservationDirectory.com www.preservationdirectory.com
Preserve Net www.preservenet.cornell.edu
UNESCO www.unesco.org
ICOMOS and US/COMOS (International Council on Monuments and Sites) www.icomos.org
National Conference of State Legislatures Data Base www.ncsl.org/programs/arts/statehist.htm

RESOURCES
Historic American Building Survey/Historic American Engineering Record www.cr.nps.gov/habshaer
List of Modern Architecture Around the World www.greatbuildings.com/types.html
New Georgia Encyclopedia www.georgiaencyclopedia.org
OldHouses.com Historic Real Estate and Old House Resources www.oldhouses.com
Secretary of the Interior Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties www.nps.gov

PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
The Alliance for Historic Landscape Preservation www.ahlp.org
American Association for State and Local History www.aaslh.org
American Council of Learned Societies www.acls.org
American Institute of Architects (national) www.aia.org
American Institute of Architects (Georgia) www.aiaga.org
Association for Preservation Technology (APT) www.apti.org
DOCOMOMO www.docomomo-us.org
Heritage Conservation Network www.heritageconservation.org
Heritage Preservation www.heritagepreservation.org
International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) www.icomos.org/usicomos
Philanthropy in the Arts www.ahmp.com
Planning Commissioners Journal www.plannersweb.com
Resources for Conservation Professionals, Stanford University http://palimpsest.stanford.edu
Society of Architectural Historians www.sah.org
Society for American Archaeology www.saa.org

GEORGIA PRESERVATION NONPROFIT PARTNERS
Athens-Clarke Heritage Foundation www.achfonline.org
Atlanta Preservation Center www.preserveatlanta.com
Atlanta Midtown www.atlanta-midtown.com
Cherokee County Historical Society www.rockbarn.org
Cobb Landmarks & Historical Society www.cobblandmarks.com
Decatur Preservation Alliance www.decaturpreservationalliance.org
Department of Community Affairs (DCA) www.dca.state.ga.us/bht/index.html
Griffin Historical Society 770-229-2432
Historic Augusta, Inc. www.historicaugusta.org
Historic Columbus Foundation www.historiccolumbus.com
Historic Macon Foundation www.historicmacon.org
Historic Savannah Foundation www.historicsavannahfoundation.org
Georgia Historical Society www.georgiahistory.com
Georgia Historic Preservation Division of the Department of Natural Resources www.gashpo.org
Georgia Historical Records Advisory Board www.sos.state.ga.us/archives
Newnan-Coweta Historical Society 770-251-0207
Southern Architecture Foundation www.wrmsaf.org
Thomasville Landmarks, Inc. 229-226-6016
Tybee Island Historical Society 912-786-5801
Vienna Historical Preservation Society 229-268-3663
Washington-Wilkes Historical Foundation www.historyofwilkes.org

STATE AGENCIES
Department of Community Affairs (DCA) www.dca.state.ga.us/bht/index.html
Georgia Historic Preservation Division of the Department of Natural Resources www.gashpo.org
Georgia Historical Records Advisory Board www.sos.state.ga.us/archives

LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS
Decatur Preservation Alliance www.decaturpreservationalliance.org
Friends of Cumberland Island www.wildcumberland.org
Friends of Historic Downtown Louisville www.ourlouisville.com
Northeast Georgia History Center Museum www.negahc.org
Signature Squares of Brunswick www.signaturesquares.org
Taylor-Brawner House www.taylor-brawnerhouse-foundation.org

GEORGIA HISTORIC SITES OF INTEREST
Barnsley Gardens www.barnsleyresort.com
Civil War Commission www.ganet.org/civilwar
Cumberland Island www.nps.gov/cuis
Dahlonega Gold Museum www.gastateparks.org/info/dahlonega
Etowah Indian Mounds State Historic Site http://gastateparks.org/info/etowah
Georgia Civil War Heritage Trails www.gcwht.org
The Georgia State Archives www.state.ga.us/sos/archives
The Historic Chattahoochee Commission www.hcc-al-ga.org
Roselawn Museum www.roselawnmuseum.com
Traveler's Rest www.gastateparks.org/info/travelers
Tybee Island Light Station www.tybeelighthouse.org
William Harris Homestead Foundation, Monroe www.harrishomestead.com

METRO ATLANTA HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL SITES
Apex Museum, Atlanta, www.apexmuseum.org
Art Station, Stone Mountain, www.artstation.org
Atlanta Cyclorama, Atlanta, www.bcaatlanta.org
Atlanta History Center, Atlanta, www.atlantahistorycenter.com
Atlanta Preservation Center, Atlanta (Grant Mansion), www.preserveatlanta.com
Bulloch Hall, Roswell, www.cvb.roswell.ga.us
Chastain Arts Center, Atlanta, www.bcaatlanta.org
Elisha Winn House, Dacula, GA, www.gwinnetths.org
Georgia Archives, Atlanta, www.georgiaaarchives.org
Georgia State Capitol, Atlanta, www.sos.state.ga.us
Hammonds House Galleries, Atlanta, www.hammondshouse.org
Herndon Home, Atlanta, www.herndonhome.org
Historic Oakland Cemetery, Atlanta, www.oaklandcemetery.com
Holliday-Dorsey-Fife House Museum, Fayetteville, www.hdfhouse.com
Jimmy Carter Presidential Library & Museum, Atlanta, www.jimmycarterlibrary.org
Lawrenceville Female Seminary, Lawrenceville, 770-822-5178
Mable House, Mableton, www.cobbcounty.org
Margaret Mitchell House & Museum, Atlanta, www.gwtw.org
Marietta Museum of History, Marietta, www.mariettahistory.org
Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site, Atlanta, www.nps.gov/malu
Old Courthouse On The Square, Decatur, www.dekalbhistory.org
Rhodes Hall, Atlanta, www.rhodeshall.org
Root House Museum, Marietta, www.cobblandmarks.com
Heritage Sandy Springs, Sandy Springs, www.heritagesandysprings.org
Smith Plantation, Roswell, www.cvb.roswell.ga.us
Southeastern Railway Museum, Duluth, www.srmduluth.org
Stately Oaks Plantation, Jonesboro, www.gwrw-jonesboro.org
Stone Mountain Park Antebellum Plantation, Stone Mountain, www.stonemountainpark.com
Taylor-Brawner House www.taylor-brawnerhouse-foundation.org
The Wren’s Nest, Atlanta, 404-753-7735

STATE HISTORIC PRESERVATION OFFICES AND ORGANIZATIONS
Alabama www.preserveala.org
Alabama Heritage magazine www.AlabamaHeritage.ua.edu
Arizona Preservation Foundation www.azpreservation.org
California Preservation Foundation www.californiapreservation.org
Colorado Preservation, Inc. www.coloradopreservation.org
Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation www.cttrust.org
Preservation Delaware www.preservationdelaware.org
Florida Trust for Historic Preservation www.floridatrust.org
Georgia Historic Preservation Division of the Department of Natural Resources www.gashpo.org
Historic Hawaii Foundation www.historichawaii.org
Landmarks Preservation Council of Illinois www.landmarks.org
Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana www.historiclandmarks.org
Iowa Historic Preservation Alliance www.iowapreservation.org
Kansas Preservation Alliance www.kpalliance.org
Maine Preservation www.mainepreservation.com
Preservation Maryland www.preservemd.org
Historic Massachusetts, Inc. www.historicmass.org
Michigan Historic Preservation Network www.mhpn.org
Preservation Alliance of Minnesota www.mnpreservation.org
Missouri Alliance for Historic Preservation www.preservemo.org/index.html
New Hampshire Preservation Alliance www.nhpreservation.org
Preservation New Jersey, Inc. www.preservationnj.org
Preservation League of New York State www.preservenys.org
North Carolina www.hpo.dcr.state.nc.us/
Preservation North Carolina www.presnc.org
Preservation Oklahoma, Inc. www.preservationoklahoma.org
Historic Preservation League of Oregon www.hplo.org
Preservation Pennsylvania www.preservationpa.org
Preserve Rhode Island www.preserveri.org
Palmetto Trust for Historic Preservation (South Carolina) www.palmettoconservation.org
Preserve South Dakota www.preservesd.org
South Dakota Historical Society www.sdhistory.org
Utah Heritage Foundation www.utahheritagefoundation.com
Preservation Trust of Vermont www.ptvermont.org
Preservation Alliance of Virginia www.vapreservation.org

SCHOOLS
Georgia State University www.gsu.edu
University of Georgia www.uga.edu
SCAD www.scad.edu
Online Colleges and Scholarships in Georgia www.onlinecolleges.net/georgia

FUNDING OPPORTUNITIES
Surface Transportation Policy Project www.tea21.org
Historic Preservation Division of the Department of Natural Resources www.gashpo.org

CONNECT WITH US

twitter

Site Map   |   Search