The Georgia Trust

2011 PRESERVATION AWARDS: EXCELLENCE IN RESTORATION

Freeman's Mill
Lawrenceville, Gwinnett County

The History
Freeman's Mill was built on the Alcovy River in 1874 by brothers John Griffin Loveless and Levi J. Loveless. It was one of 1,262 water-powered mills in the state at the time. In 1913, it was sold to W. Scott Freeman and his son. The Freeman family continued to grind mill until it was closed in 1986, and, despite some alterations, it has retained the majority of its original features including the mill wheel, gears, drive shafts and belts. In 2002, the County received funds through the Georgia Greenspace Program to purchase the mill and 11 acres for educational and recreational use offering Gwinnett County citizens a sense of the agricultural past.

The Project
Flooding from a severe storm in 2003 resulted in the permanent damage to the mill’s dam and prompted the mill’s first phase of restoration, in which the mill was raised 5 feet and out of the floodplain. Construction also included a new foundation and retaining wall, restoration of the water wheel and windows, a new roof, and repair to the siding and doors. The overall stabilization and restoration of Freeman’s Mill allows the site to function as an educational and recreational facility allowing citizens to experience an aspect of agricultural history.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


CONNECT WITH US

twitter

Site Map   |   Search