The Georgia Trust


Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation Presents 24 Statewide Preservation Awards at Ceremony in Roswell

ATLANTA, April 20, 2012— The Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation presented 24 awards recognizing the best of preservation in Georgia during its 35th annual Preservation Awards ceremony in Roswell on April 20.

Olmsted Linear Park in Atlanta, Ga. received the Marguerite Williams Award, presented annually to the project that has had the greatest impact on preservation in the state. The park located along Atlanta's Ponce de Leon Avenue also received an award in the Excellence in Rehabilitation category.

Olmsted Linear Park was planned by famed landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted, Sr., and his sons as part of the Druid Hills subdivision at the turn on the 20th century. The rehabilitation of the park over the past 13 years is the result of a community effort through the partnerships of the Olmsted Parks Society of Atlanta, Park Pride, Druid Hills Driving Club and the Druid Hills Civic Association. Together these groups form the Olmsted Linear Park Alliance.

The Trust also presented four awards for Excellence in Restoration, thirteen awards for Excellence in Rehabilitation, and three awards for Stewardship.

The Trust presented the Camille W. Yow Volunteer of the Year Award to Bill Underwood and John Turman of Atlanta. The Mary Gregory Jewett Award for Lifetime Preservation Service was given to Jeanne Cyriaque of the Historic Preservation Division of the Georgia Department of Natural Resources. The Mary Ray Memorial School in Newnan received the Chairman's Award, which recognizes extraordinary contributions made to the field of preservation. The school was placed on The Georgia Trust's Places in Peril list in 2009.

The Excellence in Restoration winners were: Mary Ray Memorial School, Newnan; Bitsy Grant Tennis Center, Atlanta; Effingham County Courthouse, Springfield; and Wallace Grove School, Morgan County.

Excellence in Rehabilitation winners were: Olmsted Linear Park, Atlanta; Georgia Theatre, Athens; Hinman Research Building at Georgia Tech, Atlanta; Old Commercial Bank of Metcalfe, Thomas County; Briggs-Smith Building, Valdosta; Emporium Building, Augusta; Judge H.W. Hopkins House, Thomasville; Wrecking Bar Brewpub and the Marianna, Atlanta; Morgan Tennis Court, Jekyll Island; Waynesboro Ice Plant, Waynesboro; Waynesboro High School, Waynesboro; GEM Theatre, Calhoun; and the John C. Godbold Federal Building, Atlanta.

Three awards were given to recognize Stewardship in the field of historic preservation. The winners were: Thomas County Historical Society in Thomasville; Jenkins County for the stewardship of the Jenkins County Courthouse in Millen; and Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity for its care of the Ross Crane House in Athens.

"This year's winners represent a tremendous dedication to restoring and revitalizing Georgia's historic buildings and communities," said Mark C. McDonald, president of The Georgia Trust. "We are proud to honor such deserving projects and individuals."

This year marked the 35th anniversary of The Georgia Trust's Preservation Awards ceremony that recognizes preservation projects and individuals in the state who have made significant contributions to the field of historic preservation. Awards are presented on the basis of the contributions of the person or project to the community and/or state and on compliance to the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.

Founded in 1973, The Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation is one of the country's largest statewide, nonprofit preservation organizations. The Trust is committed to preserving and enhancing Georgia's communities and their diverse historic resources for the education and enjoyment of all.

The Trust generates community revitalization by finding buyers for endangered properties acquired by its Revolving Fund and raises awareness of other endangered historic resources through an annual listing of Georgia's "10 Places in Peril." The Trust helps revitalize downtowns by providing design and technical assistance in 102 Georgia Main Street cities; trains Georgia's teachers in 63 Georgia school systems to engage students in discovering state and national history through their local historic resources; and advocates for funding, tax incentives and other laws aiding preservation efforts.

To learn more about The Georgia Trust and the Preservation Awards, visit

Editor’s Note:  For additional background material and more information on each award-winning project including downloadable high-resolution images, please go to




Site Map   |   Search